REAL ESTATE BOARD ACADEMY

The real estate industry is one of the main sectors in Germany. In comparison to other industries, however, it is divided into rather small sections, medium-sized and owner-led. Listed companies currently still tend to be the exception, but are growing in importance.

However, the demands on the industry due to the capital market, politics, international investors and customers require extremely high levels of professionalism, transparency, integrity and sustainability. In this respect, the quality of the supervisory and advisory boards (SB/AB) of property companies has taken on essential significance. It offers companies the opportunity to position themselves and positively differentiate their business.

Even companies not listed on the stock exchange are increasingly recognising that efficient advisory boards with additional control powers can significantly improve the clout and the “weight” of their privately-managed company. The challenge here is being able to find experienced people with property expertise to fill the board positions.

Against this background, the ICG has organised a series of events for the sector under the “ICG Real Estate Board Academy” umbrella since 2013. The “Operational Excellence” event is geared towards people who are already in a position of authority, or who will soon achieve this, the “Advanced Skills” higher-level seminar which targets experienced supervisory and advisory board members, as well as the participants in the Basic Seminar. The “Chairwo/men’s Lounge” is intended for the supervisory board chairperson (m/f/d) and their deputies who are working at listed property companies.

The topics are updated and refreshed at every event, the following content is addressed and, among other things, studied intensively by the participants:

Thumbnail ICG Lounge Video

Menu

REAL ESTATE BOARD ACADEMY

Die Immobilienwirtschaft ist eine der wichtigsten Branchen in Deutschland. Im Vergleich zu anderen Branchen ist sie jedoch eher kleinteilig, mittelständisch und inhabergeführt. Börsennotierte Unternehmen sind derzeit noch eher die Ausnahme, gewinnen aber zunehmend an Bedeutung.

Die Anforderungen, die der Kapitalmarkt, die Politik, internationale Investoren und Kunden an die Branche stellen, erfordern jedoch ein extrem hohes Maß an Professionalität, Transparenz, Integrität und Nachhaltigkeit. Insofern kommt der Qualität der Aufsichts- und Beiräte (AR/AB) von Immobilienunternehmen eine wesentliche Bedeutung zu. Sie bietet den Unternehmen die Möglichkeit, sich zu positionieren und positiv zu differenzieren.

Auch nicht börsennotierte Unternehmen erkennen zunehmend, dass effiziente Beiräte mit zusätzlichen Kontrollbefugnissen die Schlagkraft und das „Gewicht“ ihres privatwirtschaftlich geführten Unternehmens deutlich verbessern können. Die Herausforderung dabei ist, erfahrene Personen mit Immobilienkompetenz für die Besetzung der Beiräte zu finden.

Vor diesem Hintergrund organisiert die ICG seit 2013 unter dem Dach der „ICG Real Estate Board Academy“ eine Reihe von Veranstaltungen für die Branche. Die Veranstaltung „Operational Excellence“ richtet sich an Personen, die bereits in einer Führungsposition sind oder diese bald erreichen werden, das übergeordnete Seminar „Advanced Skills“ an erfahrene Aufsichts- und Beiratsmitglieder sowie an die Teilnehmer des Basisseminars. Die „Chairwo/men’s Lounge“ richtet sich an Aufsichtsratsvorsitzende (m/w/d) und deren Stellvertreter, die in börsennotierten Immobilienunternehmen tätig sind.

Die Themen werden bei jeder Veranstaltung aktualisiert und aufgefrischt, u.a. werden folgende Inhalte angesprochen und von den Teilnehmern intensiv bearbeitet:

Thumbnail ICG Lounge Video